Merry Xmas Mr Atheist

Merry Xmas, Dad.
Come on dear the kids are here.
Dad look, look what I got.
What time is it?
Time to get up, it’s Xmas.
Merry Xmas, darling.
Close the door just let me at least get dressed.
Ok Dad.
Mum thanks for the skipping rope.
Ok, ok, here I am. Everyone had breakfast yet?
This chocolate from Uncle and Aunty Spears is delicious.
Ruby, don’t skip in here.
Dad, thank you for the kite.
Riiiinnnggg.
I will get it.
Merry Xmas.
Merry Xmas.
Thanks Dave. Will we see you in church today?
Harold I am not much in to church.
Who is it dear?
Harold. He wants to know if we are going to church.
It’s Xmas of course we will see him in church.
Yes we will see you at church.
That’s the sport Dave got to go now see you later.
Bye Harold.
Knock, knock; knock.
I will get it.
Merry Xmas; Dave.
Merry Xmas to you.
Are you going to Mass today?
Yes.
Hello Geoff and Hazel.
Hi Susanne.
We call it Holy Communion at our church.
Merry Xmas to you all.
You too.
We are only just passing got to get back before the kids riot.
Bless you.
Dad what does Christmas stand for?
Son it’s a time for giving gifts.
Dad I meant what does the word Christmas mean?
Well there’s Santa Claus.
There’s no real Santa Claus. Look Dad I am 12 years old don’t treat me like an imbecile.
What does Christmas mean?
Look son I am a bit tired I might have a lie down.
Tell him dear don’t ruin our day.
Why don’t you tell him?
You are his father have some gumption.
Chris Christmas is about the birth of Jesus Christ.
Wow Jesus; what about Jesus?
He was born on Christmas day or there about.
Where is Jesus now?
[Dave thinks I think I am going to be sick]
Dad where is Jesus now?
I feel sick I am just going to lie down.
Put the radio on Ruby.
“O come all ye faithful.”
Too loud Ruby turn it down.
Church everyone.
Oh golly. I feel sick dear.
Must be all the excitement; you stay at home; the kids and I will go.
See you Dad.
[Susanne and the kids leave]
[Dave gets the book titled “Seven Pillars of Wisdom” from the book shelf]
[Dave reads the book]
[The radio can still be heard]
“O come all ye faithful”.
[Dave gets up pulls the radio socket out of the power point]
[Dave has a sleep]
Dad! Dad!
Oooo what!
[Chris turns the radio back on]
Dear you had a sleep.
Tried to.
“O come all ye faithful”.
Turn the radio down Chris.
How was church?
The Minister spoke about Christmas.
Oh and what did he say?
More than you did dear.
Please Susanne.
Dad the Minister said that the word Christmas means the Mass of Christ. The Mass is a Roman Catholic term for what we call Holy Communion – It’s the partaking of the bread and wine. Dad what are you reading?
Seven Pillars of Wisdom.
Dad why did you not come to church?
I was not feeling well.
Dave tell the boy the truth he is your son.
Son I am not religious. I do not believe that Jesus was God the Son. I am an atheist.
[Chris looks at his Dad for a few minutes. Chris does not fully understand what his Dad said. Both son and father are quiet for a few minutes]
I am going outside to fly my kite. Want to come Ruby?
[Ruby and Chris go outside]
I have let my son down.
And your daughter.
I just don’t believe; how can I believe when I detest my own father. I hated my father.
Dave you need Jesus more than the rest of us.
I know but I just can not reconcile myself back to my father.
Jesus did that for you.
[Dave sobs]
Help me Susanne to believe.
Ask Jesus.
How?
Speak to him.
How?
With your tongue and lips – believe.
[Dave sobs more]
Jesus forgive me I am sorry I have sinned.
Dave, do you really believe you have sinned against God?
Yes.
Dinner everyone.
Mum can I have two helpings of pudding.
Since its Xmas yes.
Me too Mum.
Yes you too.
And I think your father should have an extra helping of pudding too.
Thanks dear. Let’s all hold hands and have a prayer.
[Chris looks at his Dad]
[Dave looks at his son – both understand]

Kind regards; Lester John Murray.

Tags: , , , ,

https://mountlester1.wordpress.com

